Intergovernmental Agreement on Federal Financial Relations

On 29 May 2020, the Prime Minister announced that the Council of Australian Government (COAG) will cease and a new National Federation Reform Council (NFRC) will be formed, with National Cabinet at the centre of the NFRC.

More information is available on the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet website.

On 29 November 2008, COAG agreed the Intergovernmental Agreement on Federal Financial Relations (IGAFFR). The IGAFFR established a new framework for the Commonwealth’s financial relations with the States and Territories. The federal financial relations framework came into effect on 1 January 2009, representing the single most significant shift in Commonwealth-State relations for decades. The IGAFFR is available on the Standing Council on Federal Financial Relations website.

For more information, see the Federal Financial Relations Framework section of this website.