Intergovernmental Agreement on Counter-Terrorism Laws

On 29 May 2020, the Prime Minister announced that the Council of Australian Government (COAG) will cease and a new National Federation Reform Council (NFRC) will be formed, with National Cabinet at the centre of the NFRC.

More information is available on the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet website.

On 25 June 2004, the Prime Minister, the Hon John Howard MP, and State and Territory First Ministers signed the Intergovernmental Agreement on Counter-Terrorism Laws.  This is the final step in implementing the April 2002 Leaders’ Summit agreement on constitutional references to support terrorism offences of national application. The Intergovernmental Agreement provides for consultation between the Commonwealth and State and Territory Governments on amendments to federal terrorism offences and on the proscription of terrorist organisations.