National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) – Bilateral Agreement between the Commonwealth and South Australia – 11 December 2015

Friday, 11 December 2015
  • On 11 December 2015 the Commonwealth and South Australian governments signed an agreement for the full rollout of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), one of the largest social policy reforms in Australia's history.
  • This Agreement covers the roles and responsibilities for the transition to full coverage of an NDIS in South Australia, building on the lessons learned in trials conducted in New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, South Australia, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.
  • The Parties agree to continue work through the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Disability Reform Council, or equivalent multilateral forum, to refine and further develop the NDIS over time.