National Education Agreement

Thursday, 1 January 2009

The National Education Agreement is one of six National Agreements.

The Agreement encompasses the COAG’s objectives for Australia’s school system. COAG recognises that ensuring all young people have the best possible start in life is vital to the well-being of families, communities and the nation as a whole. High-quality schooling supported by strong community engagement is central to Australia’s future prosperity and social cohesion. 

The National Education Agreement is a schedule to the Intergovernmental Agreement on Federal Financial Relations (part of Schedule F: National Agreements), which came into effect on 1 January 2009.

View the National Education Agreement

All National Agreements, including the National Education Agreement, are available on the Standing Council for Federal Financial Relations website.

A fact sheet is available on this website.