Mutual Recognition of Goods and Occupations

The Commonwealth, states and territories jointly implement the mutual recognition principle in Australian law.

Mutual recognition promotes economic integration and increased trade between participants.

While mutual recognition can apply to many things, Australia’s Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) and the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Arrangement (TTMRA) apply to regulations affecting the sale of goods and registration of occupations.

The MRA allows goods that can be lawfully sold in one jurisdiction to be sold in other jurisdictions without having to meet additional requirements.

Similarly, people registered to practise an occupation in one jurisdiction are entitled to practise an equivalent occupation in other jurisdictions.

The TTMRA extends this model of mutual recognition to New Zealand with some limitations.
Benefits include:

  • lower costs to business and improved competitiveness from being able to manufacture to a single standard;
  • greater choice for consumers; and
  • greater cooperation between regulatory authorities.

Resources on Mutual Recognition

More information about the Mutual Recognition Agreement

More information about the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition

A Users' Guide to the Mutual Recognition Agreement and the Trans Tasman Mututal Recognition Arrangement

Mutual Recognition Temporary Exemption Guidelines



For more information on mutual recognition of goods, contact:

Trade and International Branch
Department of Industry and Science
GPO Box 9839



For more information on mutual recognition of occupations, contact:

Skills Engagement Branch
Department of Industry
GPO Box 9839


For more information and a list of occupations covered by Ministerial Declarations made under the mutual recognition arrangements, please visit

For health professionals, please contact the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency on 1300 419 495 or visit