COAG front page image

Welcome to the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) website

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) is the peak intergovernmental forum in Australia.

The members of COAG are the Prime Minister, State and Territory Premiers and Chief Ministers and the President of the Australian Local Government Association.

COAG has a strong record of implementing reforms that have improved the lives of all Australians.

In the period ahead, COAG will continue to drive reforms that are vital to Australia’s future.

Related Website

Reform of the Federation White Paper

Read more

Want to learn more about COAG?




COAG Meetings

COAG Special Meeting - 23 July 2015

Thursday, 23 July 2015

The Council of Australian Governments held its 40th meeting today in Sydney. It was a special meeting to reinforce our commitment to act against the threats to our community from violent extremists, family violence and the drug ice.


On 16 September 2015 the Commonwealth, New South Wales and Victorian governments signed the first agreements for the full rollout of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), one of the largest social policy reforms in Australia’s history.